Town Hall

Mayor and Council
OUR VISION: Didsbury is a vibrant and inclusive community that embraces its healthy quality of life and small town charm.
OUR MISSION: To serve a great community through effective, informed leadership and quality municipal services.
Town of Didsbury Council fulfills the legislative function of the Town’s municipal government. Council is responsible for establishing corporate policy and direction for both the short and long term. Council also sets the strategic priorities for Town staff on an annual basis. Town Council consists of one Mayor and six Councillors, who are elected by the citizens of Didsbury every four years.
Regular Council meetings are typically held every second and fourth Tuesday beginning at 6:00 PM in Council Chambers at the Town Office and are open to the public. Deadline for agenda item submission is 4:30 PM on the Tuesday of the week prior to the Council Meeting.
If you wish to contact any member of Council to discuss an issue important to you, please use the email addresses listed below or call the Town Office at 403-335-3391.
2018/2019 Committee Appointment List
2017 Annual Report from the Town of Didsbury Council and Administration.
   Mayor,  Rhonda Hunter
    Biography - Mayor Hunter

 Councillor, John Baswick    
Biography - Councillor Baswick    
     Councillor, Mel Crothers
    Biography - Councillor Crothers

Councillor, Curt Engel     
     Councillor, Dorothy Moore
     Biography - Councillor Moore

Councillor, Erhard Poggemiller   
Biography - Councillor Poggemiller   
      Councillor, Bill Windsor
     Biography - Councillor Windsor

Click here for a list of Council Committee Appointments

The Mayor is the Chief Elected Official of the municipality and has duties that encompass those of both Councillor and Chief Elected Official.
Excerpts from Sections 153 and 154 of The Municipal Government Act

153 Councillors have the following duties:
(a) to consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and to bring to Council's attention to anything that would promote the welfare or interests of the municipality;
(b) to participate generally in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the municipality;
(c) to participate in Council meetings and Council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies to which they are appointed by the Council;
(d) to obtain information about the operation or administration of the municipality from the Chief Administrative Officer or a person designated by the Chief Administrative Officer;
(e) to keep in confidence matters discussed in private at a Council or Council committee meeting until discussed at a meeting held in public;
(f) to perform any other duty or function imposed on Councillors by this or any other enactment or by the Council.
154 (1) A chief elected official, in addition to performing the duties of a Councillor, must:
(a) preside when in attendance at a Council meeting unless a bylaw provides that another Councillor or other person is to preside, and
(b) perform any other duty imposed on a chief elected official by this or any other enactment or bylaw.
(2) The chief elected official is a member of all Council committees and all bodies to which Council has the right to appoint members under this Act unless the Council provides otherwise.